Xem thêm

Songs from the Big Chair: A Journey through Tears for Fears' Iconic Album

CEO Khai Intela
Caption: Songs from the Big Chair album cover Released on February 25, 1985, "Songs from the Big Chair" is the second studio album by English band Tears for Fears. Departing from the dark and introspective...

Songs from the Big Chair Caption: Songs from the Big Chair album cover

Released on February 25, 1985, "Songs from the Big Chair" is the second studio album by English band Tears for Fears. Departing from the dark and introspective synth-pop sound of their debut album, The Hurting, this album showcases a more mainstream, guitar-based pop rock sound with socially and politically conscious themes. It became their most successful studio album, reaching number one in the U.S. and number two in the UK, and producing several hit singles such as "Shout" and "Everybody Wants to Rule the World." Let's take a closer look at this iconic album.

A Departure from the Norm

The title of this album, "Songs from the Big Chair", was derived from the 1976 television film Sybil. The band felt that they were the targets of a hostile British music press and used the title as a reflection of this sentiment. This album was a departure from the band's previous dark and introverted sound, showcasing a more outgoing and mainstream approach.

Band Caption: Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith

Writing and Recording Process

The album was recorded at The Wool Hall in 1984, and it further developed the band's sound by reintroducing guitars to their electronic sound. Many songs, including the hit single "Head over Heels," were written and performed before the album's release. The track "Shout" became a focal point during the recording process, with the band and producer Chris Hughes dedicating extensive time to perfecting it.

Commercial Success and Critical Reception

Upon its release, "Songs from the Big Chair" received positive reviews from critics. It reached number two on the UK Albums Chart and topped the Billboard 200 in the U.S. The album spawned multiple successful singles and sold over five million copies in the United States alone. It has been praised for its sophisticated production values, memorable melodies, and socially conscious lyrics.

Barry McIlheney of Melody Maker described the album as an "excellent album" that "fully justifies the rather sneering, told-you-so looks adopted by Curt Smith and Roland Orzabal on the sleeve." Johnny Waller of Sounds awarded the album four and a half stars out of five, praising its captivating melodies and overall sound. Ian Cranna of Smash Hits commended the album for its "unflinching lyrical honesty."

Band Caption: Tears for Fears in the 80s

In retrospect, "Songs from the Big Chair" has been recognized as one of the best albums of the 1980s. It was included in the book "1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die" and ranked at number 95 on Slant Magazine's list of the best albums of the 1980s. The album continues to be celebrated for its cathartic and powerful songs.

Track Listing and Personnel

Track Listing:

  1. Shout
  2. The Working Hour
  3. Everybody Wants to Rule the World
  4. Mothers Talk
  5. I Believe
  6. Broken
  7. Head Over Heels
  8. Listen


  • Roland Orzabal: Vocals, Keyboards, Guitars
  • Curt Smith: Vocals, Bass Guitar
  • Ian Stanley: Keyboards
  • Manny Elias: Drums


"Songs from the Big Chair" remains a testament to Tears for Fears' musical evolution and ability to create powerful and memorable songs. Its mainstream appeal, socially conscious themes, and sophisticated production continue to captivate audiences, solidifying its position as one of the defining albums of the 1980s. Take a trip down memory lane and immerse yourself in the timeless sounds of Tears for Fears.